NCCPA CME Requirements
The National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants (NCCPA) is dedicated to serving the interest of the public. They do so with a passionate belief that certified physician assistants are essential members of the health care delivery team who provide millions access to more affordable, high quality health care.
The NCCPA's vision is to transform the delivery of quality healthcare by certifying qualified PAs through programs that improve patient care while exemplifying a commitment to excellence unparalleled among certifying organizations.
Their mission is to serve the public through exemplary programs that evaluate critical PA competencies and that require the pursuit of life-long learning and improvement.
NCCPA CME Requirements in Kentucky
Renewal requires 100 hours of CME every 2 years, evidence of CME in HIV/AIDS in the previous 10 years, and current NCCPA certification.
Effective July 15, 2010, PAs shall demonstrate completion of a one-time training course of one and one-half hours of training covering the prevention and recognition of pediatric abusive head trauma. These hours shall be included in the current number of required continuing education hours. Practicing PAs shall demonstrate completion of this course by December 31, 2013. KY. REV.STAT.ANN. § 311.844
For the full "Physician Assistants: State Laws and Regulations for Kentucky," published by the AAPA, click here. To view more information about the certification process, visit www.nccpa.net/CertificationProcess.
To be licensed in Kentucky, PAs are required to receive specific continuing education on HIV/AIDS. All applicants for initial licensure must receive two hours of HIV/AIDS education approved by the Cabinet for Health and Family Services or the licensing board or certifying body. Applicants for licensure or certification renewal on active status must receive training at least once every 10 years thereafter, unless the licensing board or certifying entity requires more frequent completion under administrative regulations.
Pediatric Abusive Head Trauma
In 2010, the Kentucky General Assembly passed House Bill 285. This bill requires various groups to complete a course in Pediatric Abusive Head Trauma, also known as "Shaken Baby Syndrome."
“Pursuant to KRS 311.844 section (3)(d), the Board shall ensure that physician’s assistant shall demonstrate completion of a one-time training course of one and one-half (1.5) hours of training covering the prevention and recognition of pediatric abusive head trauma, as defined in KRS 620.020. The one and one-half hours of continuing education required under this section shall be included in the current number of required continuing education hours. Current practicing physician’s assistants shall demonstrate completion of this course by December 31, 2013.”
10-Year Certification Maintenance Process that Began in 2014
2014 marked the beginning of the PA profession's transition to a 10-year certification maintenance process. PAs who passed PANCE, regained certification, or wrap up a six-year certification maintenance cycle will begin the new 10-year process.
The 10-year certification maintenance process includes five two-year cycles during which all certified PAs must log 100 CME credits online and submit a certification maintenance fee by 11:59 p.m. PT, December 31 of your certification expiration year.
During each of those two-year cycles, you must earn and log at least 100 CME credits, including at least 50 Category 1 CME credits. The remaining 50 credits can be Category 1, Category 2 or a combination of both.
Two types of Category 1 CME are self-assessment CME and PI-CME. While these types are no longer required as part of the 50 credits, we recognize the value of these very interactive types of CME, and will weight these types of CME more heavily. We will award 50% additional credit for all activities designated for self-assessment Category 1 CME credit (i.e., a self-assessment activity worth 10 credits will be converted to 15 credits by NCCPA). Also, the first 20 PI-CME credits logged during every two-year cycle will be doubled when logged with NCCPA.
Your CME earning and logging window begins May 1 of the year your current certification was issued and continues through December 31 of the certification expiration year. (For example, PA-C designees whose certification expires in 2019 must have earned their CME between May 1, 2017 and December 31, 2019.) The only exception to this policy is for first-time loggers.
Logging Credits with NCCPA
To log your hours online with NCCPA, follow the instructions below.
- Go to www.nccpa.net and Log on to Your Personal Certification Record
- Click “Log New CME,” and then click on your conference link.
- Each day of the conference is logged separately. Click on the day from the drop down menu.
- Choose the sessions you attended for that day by clicking the check box next to each session.
- If you would like to change the cycle, click on the cycle box next to each session and select the cycle for which you would like the session applied. (Only qualifying cycles will be listed.)
- If necessary, change the amount of credits that you are claiming for each session in the “Actual Credits” column.
- When you have selected that day’s activities, click on the “Add Sessions” button at the bottom of the screen.
- On the “Summary of Sessions to be Added” screen, review the sessions that you selected, click on the box next to the statement that states “I certify that the above information is true and correct”, and then click the “Complete” button.
- From the “Conference Summary” screen which appears, click “Add New Sessions” at the top of the page to enter additional days.
- If you wish to complete your logging at a later date, click the “Complete Later” button.
- To close the conference link after entering all sessions, click “Complete Conference” at the bottom of the conference screen.
By logging your hours through the Conference Logging Link, your hours are verified, and thereby not audited by NCCPA. If you have any questions about the process, please call the NCCPA customer service line at 678-417-8100.
To request a copy of your CME conference, pediatric abuse and head trauma or HIV certificates, please contact